Skip to main content


Faculty Fellows
2020-21



The Institute's leadership, staff, faculty, and advisory boards are dedicated to the IAH mission to support and develop Carolina faculty. Below is a listing of these teams as well as our current Faculty Fellows and Academic Leadership Program Fellows.


Old Well

Jocelyn Chua

Associate Professor, Anthropology
(919) 962-1145
jlchua@email.unc.edu

Borden Fellow


Old Well

Michael A. Figueroa

Assistant Professor, Music
(919) 962-5481
mfigueroa@unc.edu

Pardue Fellow


Old Well

Maggie Fritz-Morkin

Assistant Professor, Romance Studies
(919) 962-5457
mfritzm@email.unc.edu

Turner Fellow


Old Well

Torin Monahan

Professor, Communication

torin.monahan@unc.edu

Ellison Fellow


Old Well

Susan Pennybacker

Distinguished Professor, History

pennybac@email.unc.edu

Burress Fellow


Old Well

Aleksandra Prica

Assistant Professor, Germanic & Slavic Languages and Literature
(919) 966-1642
aprica@email.unc.edu

Woodbury Fellow


Old Well

Victoria Rovine

Professor, Art and Art History

vrovine@email.unc.edu

Townsend Fellow


Old Well

Rebecka Rutledge Fisher

Associate Professor, English & Comparative Literature
(919) 962-4013
rrfisher@ad.unc.edu

Johnson Fellow


Old Well

Petal Samuel

Assistant Professor, African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
(919) 966-1295
petals@email.unc.edu

Blackwell Fellow


Old Well

John Sweet

Associate Professor, History
(919) 962-2115
sweet@unc.edu

IAH Legacy Fellow – Race, Memory, and Reckoning Initiative